How He loves us…

In reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan he pointed out a passage in Jeremiah. Verses 4 through 10 read as follows:

[4] Now the word of the LORD came to me, saying,

[5] “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

[6] Then I said, “Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” [7] But the LORD said to me,

“Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’;
for to all to whom I send you, you shall go,
and whatever I command you, you shall speak.
[8] Do not be afraid of them,
for I am with you to deliver you,
declares the LORD.”

[9] Then the LORD put out his hand and touched my mouth. And the LORD said to me,

“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.
[10] See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms,

God affirms His relationship to Jeremiah declaring that before He formed Jeremiah in his mother’s womb, He knew who Jeremiah was. Jeremiah is touched and declares that he is but a youth. This means he was likely still living at home. He humbly states that he is not even an adult. In Jewish culture to be a priest you had to be 30. While the office of prophet is not priest, it is in service to God and the people of Israel would expect a prophet to be older. However, God touched his mouth as a gesture of putting words in his mouth. He provided Jeremiah with the reassurance that God would give him the words to speak. A loving gesture from the Creator of all things!

How do you see God?

It’s interesting that our view of God is so different depending on who you ask. Some see Him as distant, unloving, stern. Some see Him as their best friend and loving but harmless. Others see Him as capricious, warlike, mean. I see Him as Creator God, perfectly just, worthy of respect, honor, fear, adoration, and with a capacity for love that cannot be matched. Others deny His very existence. What we think about God determines how we manage our relationship with Him. A good friend reminded me of this by throwing a great quote from theologian A.W. Tozer at me yesterday: “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.” Now, to my atheist friends you may protest this immediately because you don’t think about God. For you it is not what you think about God, presupposing He exists (and He does!), but the fact that you do not think about Him at all. The belief system you hold to; be it secular humanism, science as faith, or any other non-theistic belief system is a defining characteristic of who you are.

Looking back on my life before and after coming to know God I wonder how I could ever think He was not there. To all my friends, but especially those who hold no faith, have you ever had any experiences that make you rethink your position? Do you think the universe appeared out of no where without an external force to create it? Do we love out of some evolutionary force ( if so, what is it?) or because we were created by a God who loves? Is the idea of right and wrong a facet of evolution or another imprint of God? Do you ever have a feeling that there is more to you than a mere human lifespan?

One thought on “How He loves us…

Leave a Reply

